More goodies from Gramma!

27 Dec

Man, my Gramma had so many cool things!  I’ve been lucky enough to be able to help my mom go through her estate and clean things out {and bring things home}.

She was quite a crafter herself!  She did quilt a lot!  When she was alive, I always appreciated her talent.  However, I wasn’t a quilter while she was here.

How nice would have it been to have quilted a quilt together!  What memories.  What stories would have come up while we were quilting?  Who knows if we would have gotten anything done … a lot of times we would laugh till we cried.

… goodness, if that happened now, I probably would pee my pants {ah, what babies do to you}.

Anyways, a nice little tangent there.  While I was home in the summer and this last trip for my Dad, I brought home some treasures.

Treasures that I may have not have appreciated as much when I was younger.

Treasures that mean so much more to me now.

I just wish she could know that.

A lot of Gramma goodness right here!

Her cushion she HANDMADE, her old camera, and her ol’ typewriter

{my boys had no idea what these things were, too funny}

AWESOMENESS!

Hmmm … Target and Canada … who knew!

I think I may have found some pictures she actually took with this bad boy.

AH-Mazing.

 

To think, they had this in a garage sale and NOBODY snagged it.

{yay}

{and it works!}

Very very cool.

 

I sure do miss her.  Christmas was really her deal.

We almost always had a stranger {to us, but not to her} at the dinner table.  If she knew that someone wasn’t celebrating Christmas dinner anywhere, her home was open.  She would also make sure she had a gift for our guest, even if it were just a pair of socks.  Being so far away from my family and with her being gone for the past five years is so hard during the holidays.

I would like my boys to have that sense of what Christmas is really about.  Not about all the gifts and toys, but family and friends.  Being kind to one another.  Giving {even if it’s a note telling them how much they mean to you}.  And when money is tight, {it’s not easy} but it’s okay, as long as you have family.

Gramma and Grampa were not rich.

But their hearts and their home were.

 

 

2 Responses to “More goodies from Gramma!”

  1. Alison December 28, 2010 at 11:52 am #

    Oh my goodness, what wonderful, special items to inherit as a reminder of your grandmother! I have several teapots and pieces of jewelry that belonged to my Grandma. They are my most prized possessions 🙂

    • taradara December 28, 2010 at 9:11 pm #

      Thanks, Alison! Yeah, she had some fantastic things that I didn’t even know she had until after she was gone. I’m glad that you appreciate your Grandma’s items too! They are truly priceless!

Leave a comment